Facts about Finland

Click image to see full size of the infographic.

Produced by Expedia.

Finland in brief

Total area: 338,144 square kilometres, of which 10% is water and 69% forest; Europe’s largest archipelago, including the semi-autonomous province of Åland

Population: 5.4 million

Capital: Helsinki (595,000), about 1.3 million people live in the Helsinki metropolitan area

GNP: In 2013, Finland’s GNP per capita was 37,018 euros

Currency: The Finnish currency unit is the euro. Finland was one of the 12 EU countries that started using the euro in 2002.

Languages: Finland has two official languages: Finnish (91.5%) and Swedish (5.5%). Another official indigenous minority language is Sami (0.03%)

Religion: Lutheran (75.2 %) and Orthodox (about 1.1%)

Neighboring Countries: Sweden, Norway, Russia

Parliament: Parliament consists of one chamber with 200 members. The members are elected for a four-year term by direct popular vote under a system of proportional representation.

President: The head of state is the President of the Republic. The President is elected for a six-year term by direct popular vote. The president for the current term (until February 28, 2018) is Mr Sauli Niinistö.

Climate: The climate of Finland is marked by cold winters and fairly warm summers. In summer the temperature quite often rises to +20 Celsius or more and occasionally goes close to +30 in southern and eastern parts of the country. In winter, temperatures of -20 Celsius are not uncommon in many areas. Finnish Lapland invariably has the lowest winter temperatures

Local Time: +2 hrs GMT

Flight Times to Helsinki hrs:min:
Beijing 8:00
Brussels 2:40
Melbourne 22:00
Moscow 1:40
New York 8:40
Rome 3:40
Tokyo 9:30